APPROVED RULING: Since no runner, when the ball is dead, may advance
beyond the base to which he is entitled, the runner originally on first base
goes to third base and the batter is held at second base. The term "when the
wild throw was made" means when the throw actually left the player's hand
and not when the thrown ball hit the ground, passes a receiving fielder or
goes out of play into the stands. The position of the batter runner at the time
the wild throw left the thrower's hand is the key in deciding the award of
bases. If the batter runner has not reached first base, the award is two bases
at the time the pitch was made for all runners. The decision as to whether
the batter runner has reached first base before the throw is a judgment call. If
an unusual play arises where a first throw by an infielder goes into stands or
dugout but the batter did not become a runner (such as catcher throwing ball
into stands in attempt to get runner from third trying to score on passed ball
 or wild pitch) award of two bases shall be from the position of the runners at
the time of the throw. (For the purpose of Rule 7.05 (g) a catcher is
considered an infielder.) PLAY. Runner on first base, batter hits a ball to the
shortstop, who throws to second base too late to get runner at second, and
second baseman throws toward first base after batter has crossed first base.
Ruling_Runner at second scores. (On this play, only if batter runner is past
first base when throw is made is he awarded third base.) 
(h) One base, if a ball, pitched to the batter, or thrown by the pitcher
from his position on the pitcher's plate to a base to catch a runner, goes into
a stand or a bench, or over or through a field fence or backstop. The ball is
dead; 



Get the entire Major League Rule Book Here




© 2018 - Phillies Fan Central